## KIRKLEES METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

**ANNUAL COUNCIL** 

**WEDNESDAY 30 JUNE 2004** 

**COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL** 

WARDS AFFECTED: All

**STATUS OF REPORT: Public** 

## **KEY FACTS AND OFFICER ADVICE:**

Council Procedure Rule 34 (1) requires the Council to establish regulatory Committees and any other Committees it feels necessary in order to discharge the function of the Authority.

The structure proposed for the Municipal Year 2004/2005 is a proposal in line with the Executive/Overview and Scrutiny split and is set out in more detail in the Constitution of the Council.

This means that, with the exception of Scrutiny Panels and the Planning Sub-Committees, all other Committees and Panels are essentially stand alone and require to be approved by the Council under the Procedure Rule.

The Council is, therefore, recommended to approve the establishment of the following Committees and Panel in line with proposals set out in the Constitution:

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Council Business Committee Standards Committee Planning and Highways Committee Housing Management Committees (8) Personnel Committee

Area Committees for Batley, Birstall and Birkenshaw, Colne Valley, Denby Dale, Dewsbury, Holme Valley North, Holme Valley South, Huddersfield (consisting of the Almondbury, Ashbrow, Crosland Moor and Netherton, Dalton, Greenhead, Lindley and Newsome Wards), Kirkburton, Mirfield and Spen Valley

Grants Advisory Committee Devolution Advisory Committee Licensing and Safety Committee Appeals Panel

**CONTACT OFFICER:** John Quarmby, 01484 221703

JQ/PAW 18 June 2004